News and Upcoming Performances

Welcome to our Paperless Program

(program notes given from the stage)

Program 4: Women’s Rights

March 16, 2019 2pm  Watch on facebook live 

Marie Schwartz- flute

Christine Pascual-Fernandez- clarinet

Myrna Meeroff- horn

March of the Women                                      Ethel Smyth  (1858-1944)

Overture to Boatswain’s Mate                        Ethel Smyth  (1858-1944)

Sonata for Viola                                     Rebecca Clarke (1886-1979)

Atrahente                                  Francisca Edwiges Nieves Gonzaga (1847-1935)

String Quartet in A major                                Elfrida Andreé (1841-1929)

          Boat Song                                                       Dorothy Howell  (1898-1982)

The Oak                                                          Florence Price (1887-1953)

Miramar Cultural Center

Next Coral Gables Outreach Program is Saturday, March 23 at  3pm at the Coral Gables Library.  Help us rewrite traditional fairy tales to remove the villains and listen to a concert of fairy tale themes.

Program 5: Climate Change

This program celebrates mothers who held their families together during the recent natural disasters in the US, Mexico, Japan and Puerto Rico.  Guest artist Nestor Torres joins the SFCE with music by American composer Frank Ticheli’s Earth Song, Consuelo Velazquez’s Besame Mucho, Michio Miyagi’s Haru no Umi, and Beethoven’s 6th Symphony, part of the Beethoven Pastorale Project, a global initiative about the Paris Climate Agreement.

Saturday, May 11, 2019 7pm Sunshine Cathedral, Fort Lauderdale

Collaborating composer submission boxes are open. Please send us your refugee stories  to be included in Season 9: Changing our World.  Click here to submit your story:

Congratulations to our own Myrna Meeroff who was named a finalist for the fifth year in a row for ArtsEd Forever  Broward Teaching Artist of the Year.

The South Florida Chamber Ensemble receives a grant from FAB!(Funding Arts Broward) for our eighth season, Changing Our World.  Executive Director Myrna Meeroff accepts the award on Tuesday, May 1, 2018.